Ohavi Zedek Synagogue – often referred to as OZ – was founded in 1885 by 18 Jewish immigrants from Lithuania. Today it is Vermont’s oldest and largest Jewish congregation, with a community of about 375 families.
Ohavi Zedek is a vibrant, egalitarian and inclusive congregation committed to embracing tradition while actively participating in the changing Jewish world. Membership consists of individuals and families from every liberal Jewish background: Conservative, Reform, Reconstructionist and Renewal. OZ is a kehilla (sacred community) where everyone is welcome.
To learn more, visit the congregation website.
CLICK HERE to learn more about Ohavi Zedek’s original synagogue, built in 1885 and listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The building now serves Congregation Ahavath Gerim.
CLICK HERE to read more about Ohavi Zedek’s present building, erected in 1952, and now home to the Lost Shul Mural.